Nuts

For lunch today, I snacked while catching up on a pile of emails that I’ve been avoiding.

First I ate an abundantly juicy plum. I always have to eat plums with a napkin in hand, or disaster ensues.

DSC_0006

Now is a good time to admit that I have never enjoyed nuts or nut-based products. I am starting to experiment with different nuts and nut butters to find something tolerable, or who knows perhaps even enjoyable. So today I made myself toasted multi-grain bread with Earth Balance vegan butter and all natural peanut butter. The plan was that the strong flavor of toasted bread and butter would help soften the peanut butter flavor. The result? I’m still indifferent. Maybe a peanut butter and jelly sandwich is in order. Notice the one hesitant bite taken from the bottom corner of bread.

DSC_0007

Cherries are finally popping up again at reasonable, in-season prices. I ate every last one, even the imperfect.

DSC_0010

This afternoon, James and I made a small grocery trip. We picked up some fruits and veggies, and a few things to use for dinner over the next couple of days. The shining star of our purchase? A ripe yellow pineapple. With out question, my favorite fruit.

DSC_0012

I wanted to use this pineapple right away, so James cut it up for me. How do you cut a pineapple? Check out this video. Dinner came from my new favorite cookbook, Veganomicon. Pineapple-Cashew-Quinoa Stir-fry. Again with the nuts. The quinoa was cooked in pineapple juice, Bragg’s Liquid Aminos, and water. The stir fry included pineapple, cashews, scallions, mint, basil, red-pepper, jalapeno, ginger, veg broth, and more Bragg’s. I honestly think it is one of the best dinners that I have ever made. The cashews–not half bad!

DSC_0013

After dinner, James and I decided to walk around the corner to Max Cafe for a glass of wine. We ended up meeting a friend, and it was cheaper to purchase a bottle of wine to split among the three of us. With our measly summer incomes in mind, we ordered the cheapest bottle available which just so happened to be Pinot Noir.

IMG_0208

(apologies for the grainy iPhone picture). The nice thing about ordering cheap wine is that you are never expecting much. So, when the wine is even a little bit good, you are pleasantly surprised. After we finished, James and I went for a short walk along the top of Morningside Park. For the first night in what feels like weeks, it is not raining in New York, and the weather is perfect. A cool breeze, the fresh scent of summer (yes even in NYC), and a few faded stars in the sky.

IMG_0211

Time for some pre-bed yoga, a little reading, and lights out.

Leave a Reply

