Genmaicha

Last night was a movie night (a John Cassavetes film, Opening Night), which led to a delayed bed time. Fortunately, I was able to rub open my tired eyes and hop out of bed when the alarm went off at 8am. Getting out of bed is always easier when you know you have a fresh piece of cornbread waiting for you as a pre-workout snack.

James made this cornbread on Tuesday:

DSC_0003

I’ve been running on the treadmill all week, and I knew that while physically I was feeling great, mind over matter would not be so easy today. So, along with my running partner Radiohead, I tried this treadmill workout posted by Tina at Carrots ‘n’ Cake:

Walk at 4.0 at 7.5 incline for 4 minutes

Jog at 6.5 at 1.0 incline for 5 minutes

Repeat walk + jog 2 times

Jog at 6.5 at 2.0 incline for 3 minutes

Run at 7.0 at 1.0 incline for 3 minutes

Sprint at 8.0 at 1.0 include for 1 minute

Jog at 6.0 at 1.0 incline for 1 minute

Sprint at 8.0 at 1.0 incline for 1 minute

Run at 7.0 at 1.0 incline for 1 minute

Jog at 6.5 at 1.0 incline for 3 minutes

Walk (cool down) for 5 minutes

My mind and body felt refreshed, and not once did I have to wonder how much more running nowhere I could take. Radiohead and I made it through the whole workout, and came out at about 4.25 miles. After my run, I focused on strength training arms and shoulders. Going to the gym in the morning has been fabulous… It is so quiet and calm and way less smelly. I can’t say the same for myself! Sweaty and tired, after I walked the two + blocks home, I was starving!

For breakfast I had Puffed Whole Wheat cereal with ground flax seed, blueberries, and Silk plain soy yogurt. This is a strong contender for my favorite dish, along with oatmeal of course.

DSC_0004

A cup of Japanese Genmaicha tea gave me just the kick that I needed.

DSC_0005

Genmaicha has a full toasty flavor owing to its combination of green tea leaves and roasted brown rice. The little bloated bits of brown rice look like larvae to me, but the flavor is so worth it.  I drink tea without anything added, and I never remove the teabag in order to achieve the fullest taste experience. James compares the flavor of this tea to the left over milk from a bowl of shredded wheat… I’d have to disagree. When brewing green and white teas never let the water boil. It will burn the poor little tea leaves and you’ll be left with a bitter tasting tea.

DSC_0011

I have the day off today, so I’ll be spending the rest of the day reading, writing, catching up with emails, and possibly studying for the GRE.

Leave a Reply

