Motivation Bagel

East coast humidity made for a less than ideal sleeping night. Wake up call was pushed back to 8:30, when my stomach began grumbling for a moist piece of cornbread. On my walk to the gym, the rainy weather pattern that seems to be stalled out over this city picked back up again. I was lucky to have my umbrella with me. I decided to challenge myself this morning and try to make it through the entire “not boring” treadmill workout again. My self-confidence perhaps a bit inflated from the relative ease with which I completed the workout yesterday, I was surprised what a struggle I was having today. My hamstrings were burning with every step, it was a chore to control and steady my breathing, and after forcing myself to make it to the end, I was drenched in sweat. Not normal, post-run sweat, but sweat that made me look like I had just stepped out of the shower, or got caught in the lawn sprinklers. Red faced and stiff legged, I could only make it through one series of ab exercises before it was time to stretch and head back out into the rain.

I ran 15 miles this week. I’m sure some of you are thinking, “wow, that’s a lot of miles,” while others are saying, “no problem, I run more than that in one day.” For me, this is a good place to be. As I start running outside soon, I’m looking for this number to rise, but right now, I’m perfectly satisfied. What was my motivation? James and I have made a deal that if we go to the gym every weekday morning, on Friday we are allowed to stop at Nussbaum and Wu on our way home for a bagel. That bagel is definitely what got me through today’s run. 7 grain bagel with tofu scallion spread:

DSC_0003

Along with the bagel I sipped on a cup of White Peony tea. This tea has a clean and refreshing taste that i find lighter in flavor than green tea.

DSC_0006

A couple of hours later, I was already hungry for lunch, so I ate some of the leftovers from last night’s meal. I think this tasted even better after sitting in the fridge for a night. I was looking forward to having another piece of cornbread with my lunch, but I found a few spots of dark mold on it, and had to get rid of it. I hope I didn’t consume any of the mold this morning!

DSC_0010

Now my goal is to kill the pesky fruit flies that have taken residence in my kitchen and office. They seem to always be just out of reach, and the moment I spot them, they slip in front of a dark surface and are lost from sight. Just as I am forgetting about their existence, one will appear again, and the process repeats.

I’m teaching this afternoon and have an exciting dinner and evening treat planned.

Leave a Reply

