The perfect run

I went to bed fairly early last night, hoping to make up for the limited amount of sleep that took place this weekend. This morning has been beautiful. I scarfed down a slice of Rudi’s Organic Wheat and Oat bread with some more of my homemade almond butter spread on top. Great fuel for my morning run.

DSC_0235

Due to the refreshing temperature and sun peaking through the scattered clouds, I decided that today was the perfect day to begin running outside. I have always been a treadmill runner, but the idea of entering and training for races has been in the back of my mind lately. Running outside is physically harder, but mentally much easier. I was kept entertained by the Monday morning commuters, fellow runners, a fleeting view of the Hudson, and just about every breed of dog known to man. There is also a specific type of tree (I apologize for not knowing the name) that is blooming right now filling the air with a delicious fragrance. The scent of the gym can’t compete.

I ran 3.3 miles with some challenging up hill sections, and met James back at the gym for my back and shoulder strengthening routine. A few years ago in undergrad, I sustained a shoulder injury from playing the viola. It had something to do with the rotator cuff, but none of the doctors that I visited could pinpoint exactly what was wrong. When I held my arm at certain positions I was not able to raise my arm in the air enough to even brush my hair or put on a shirt. The quick fix idea was to inject my shoulder with a cortisone freeze shot. One of the most painful injections of my life; the relief lasted for a long time. While I still have recurring bouts of shoulder pain, I’ve been working on strengthening my shoulders and back with the hopes of eliminating this problem all together. As long as the weather is nice again, I am planning another outside run for tomorrow.

For breakfast I made oatmeal with almond milk, blueberries, the last of the blackberries, and a spoonful of almond butter.

DSC_0241

I have a full day of planning, writing, and teaching violin ahead of me. There also may be some bread baking in the near future.

Leave a Reply

