Beer!

James and I were not able to resist opening the home brews last night after they were sufficiently chilled. Good job Anthony! Majic is a light and refreshing beer with the perfect hint of apricot. It was great for a hot and humid (at least in our apartment) night like last night. I only wish that there was another one for tonight!

DSC_0238

This morning was tragic. Searching blindly through the fridge with my sleep filled eyes, I realized that the last piece of bread had been consumed yesterday. What would I have for my pre-workout snack? I substituted my usual slice of bread and almond butter for a few handfuls of dried cranberries and sliced almonds. Hoping that this would divert any mid-workout pangs of hunger*, I headed of to the gym. Because of the leg strengthening that I did yesterday, my legs were feeling tight. Deciding not to run, I hung out on the elliptical for 27 minutes with my New Yorker. Physically, the elliptical always feels easier than running. Mentally… did you notice that I stopped at 27 minutes? Even with my magazine, I couldn’t keep myself entertained. After wiping down the machine, I worked my abs until they were burning; in a good way.

*Lesson learned today: a few handfuls of dried cranberries and almonds will not get me through a full morning workout.

Knowing that I had a busy day ahead of me, I made breakfast right when I arrived home. A bowl of puffed wheat cereal, blueberries, blackberries, and soy yogurt along with ice tea that James made yesterday.

DSC_0241

Still feeling hungry, I sliced a grapefruit, drizzled it with honey, and added a few sprinkles of cinnamon. Such a tasty treat.

DSC_0243

DSC_0247

James and I are traveling to my home state of Vermont this weekend for my friend’s wedding. The trip is proving to be somewhat expensive because we needed to rent a car so that we could bring our two kitties with us. Budget conscious and wanting to avoid unhealthy lunch options, I spent much of the day today preparing snacks for us to eat on the way. I found a recipe for oat bars from Kath at Kath Eats Real Food. Her recipe is very basic, which leaves room for creativity. I added dried cranberries, sunflower seeds, almonds, chocolate chips, and almond butter to her fabulous base. These will be great for the road, and I will have some left over to share with my family.

DSC_0252

DSC_0253

Previously I mentioned that we were out of bread. I decided to bake a loaf of cracked wheat bread found in New Recipes from Moosewood Restaurant. This bread uses whole wheat flour and bulgur giving it a distinctly nutty flavor (substitute butter with Earth Balance and milk with soy milk). I tried a small piece, and the bulgur adds very nice texture. Not the most experienced of bread bakers, I don’t think that I let my loaf rise enough before putting it in the oven.

DSC_0259

DSC_0260

I also had to practice and teach a lesson this afternoon. Luckily, James took care of dinner. He made his specialty–vegan tacos! To make these tacos: put Tofutti sour cream, Morningstar Farms crumbles, sliced black olives, chopped tomatoes, and shredded lettuce into a crunchy corn taco shell and top with your favorite taco sauce.

DSC_0265

Tonight I have to finish start packing, and make our lunches. Hopefully the sandwiches won’t get soggy, but I really don’t feel like putting them together tomorrow a.m. at 5:30.

Look forward to posts from Vermont!

Leave a Reply

