Monday Energy

Maybe Chester the cat meowing for food is what really woke me up early this morning, but I would like to think that it was my eagerness to get outside and run!

DSC_0249

As I was finishing my pre-workout snack, downing some water, and checking emails, my phone rang. It was our friend David from down the street who woke up extra early today. He decided he’d try running with us. Good company makes a run go so much faster. James and David stopped around one mile. I kept running and caught up with them on the way back. Wanting to catch up before they reached their final destination really pushed me to run quite a bit faster, even though the last mile is just about all up hill. Today really was about speed. Distance-3.3 miles. I’m planning to increase that tomorrow.

Still craving oatmeal, I had a big bowl of five grain cereal cooked with soy milk and topped with yogurt, blueberries, and blackberries accompanied by a cup of Goji Green tea.

IMG_0384

After yesterday’s Green Monster success, I decided to try another one today. This time I added 1 whole white peach. James’ parents gave us this one serving blender that is perfect for smoothie making.

IMG_0386

The addition of the peach gave my GM a thicker consistency and made it more smoothie like. Yesterday’s was a little runny.

IMG_0389

IMG_0391

  • 2/3 cups of Nasoya Vanilla silken tofu
  • a big handful of spinach
  • 1 peach
  • about 1 tbsp ground flaxseed

I’m busy the rest of the day cleaning and teaching. It’s been a great Monday so far.

2 responses to “Monday Energy

  1. Hmmm…I’ve never tried green monster before. I’ll try it for brekkie tomorrow :)

Leave a Reply

