Distractions

Last night I set a vague goal for myself: run farther today than I ran yesterday. While the specificity of my goal may not have been stellar, I dug deep inside of my groggy, slow moving self, and pounded out 4.2 miles. In all reality, my run today was a lot of fun, and provided me with many a strange sight to keep my mind occupied.

Distractor No. 1: A happily aging, or maybe obliviously aging, woman sitting on a shaded park bench feeding the pigeons. As I approached her private world, I noticed that not only were the eager pigeons keeping her company, but she had made fast friends with a squirrel. While the woman was obviously thrilled and began chatting with her new acquaintance, the squirrel was only offering friendship as a means for a tasty meal.

Distractor No. 2: A solitary Lego man glued to the black iron grate protecting a first floor window. He takes pride in greeting passerbys who are observant or lucky enough to notice his existence.

Distractor No. 3: A bearded gentleman accompanied by a leashed and harnessed Egyptian Mau. The lanky and spotted feline did not sink motionless to the ground as so many other of his kind do when faced with being walked like a dog. Rather, this individual balanced along the stone park wall, rubbing his body, nose to tail, along protruding trees. A proud member of this most ancient breed, he held his head high, perhaps reflecting upon his noble ancestors.

After my usual breakfast of oats and a couple hours of working, I was craving a green monster. Today, perhaps taking a lesson from the Egyptian Mau, my ingredients list was more adventurous… sort of. I added a lot less of the silken tofu, and used more plain yogurt instead. This made my GM less sweet, but the sharp tang of plain soy yogurt still covered up the spinach taste.

IMG_0404

  • 1/3 cup of vanilla silken tofu
  • a big handful of spinach
  • 3 big spoonfuls of plain soy yogurt
  • 1 peach
  • 1/3 cup of plain soy milk

All of these measurements are approximate as I tend to just poor things in until it looks good, blend, taste test, and then add more of whatever ingredient is missing.

Lunch was a piece of whole wheat naan with more Trader Joe’s Hummus. That stuff is dangerous. Before heading to the UES to teach, I grabbed a snack of tart dried cranberries and sliced almonds. And for dinner James made tacos. Here he is hard at work:

IMG_0412

At one point in our lives, meals would rotate between pasta, rice and beans, and tacos. In 2.5 weeks, we’ve only had 2 taco nights. I’d say we are getting a bit more sophisticated with our daily meals. The bad thing about these delicious tacos is that after they are gone, I just about always crave something sweet in the form of chocolate. James and I split a bar of orange dark chocolate.

IMG_0414

I have two exciting events to look forward to this week. Tomorrow I have a movie date (can you guess which movie?), and on Thursday we are going to visit Coney Island (my first time) with some friends.

bonsoir

4 responses to “Distractions

  1. 4.2 miles–that’s great!

  2. Are you seeing the movie about Julia childs???

Leave a Reply

