Smoothie Fail

To give my knees a break from pounding pavement today, I headed to the gym for 40 minutes on the bike. Flipping through the pages of my New Yorker, I spent this time learning all about Mr. Al Franken and his struggle for the senate victory.

I was unlucky with my Green Monster today. Grayish-blue monster?

IMG_0415

Having run out of vanilla silken tofu, I tried to use plain silken tofu. I used way too much, and the flavor of tofu overpowered my smoothie. I dumped half of it out and added yogurt, honey, and blueberries. While I managed to salvage this failure, it was by no means the best smoothie I’ve ever had. Win some, lose some.

With a movie to catch at 7, James and I ate an early dinner. I marinated 2 big portabella mushrooms and grilled them up for a juicy sandwich with grilled asparagus on the side.

IMG_0417

Grilled Portabella Marinade:

  • 1/2 cup cooking wine
  • 1-2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce

Let the mushrooms marinate for 20-30 minutes, then grill to desired level of doneness.

IMG_0418

James and I went to see Harry Potter tonight. What a let down. Bad acting, bad scriptwriting… scenes that were just made up. If it wasn’t part of a series, this movie would never have been made. If you were one of the few in the audience who hadn’t read the book, you would have no clue what was going on. Best to stop there before I reveal just how big of a nerd I really am.

After the movie, we stopped at Fairway to pick up a few things for the rest of the week. There must be something in the air tonight, because I couldn’t believe how rude people were being. One lady practically ran over my food with her food cart, mumbling something along the lines of “get out of my way, just let me through.” Another man had moved out of the way to let a spacey woman pass. When she did not acknowledge his gesture, he snapped at her, “I was just trying to be polite!” With the woman answering, “I never asked you to be.” Needless to say, we found our supplies, ran to the cash registers and got out of that zoo as soon as possible.

Sorry for the short and scattered post, but I’m exhausted!

Leave a Reply

