A Moveable Feast

The run I was planning? It did not happen.

Instead, I spent some time reconnecting with a favorite book–Hemingway’s A Moveable Feast. No matter how many times I have read this book, once I begin reading, I cannot stop. My all time favorite passage:

I could never be lonely along the river. With so many trees in the city, you could see the spring coming each day until a night of warm wind would bring it suddenly in one morning. Sometimes the heavy cold rains would beat it back so that it would seem that it would never come and that you were losing a season out of your life. This was the only truly sad time in Paris because it was unnatural. You expected to be sad in the fall. Part of you died each year when the leaves fell from the trees and their branches were bare against the wind and the cold, wintry light. But you knew there would always be the spring, as you knew the river would flow again after it was frozen. When the cold rains kept on and killed the spring, it was as though a young person had died for no reason.

In those days, though, the spring always came finally but it was frightening that it had nearly failed.

Dinner

There was one lonely zucchini in the fridge. Knowing that its final days were near, I sliced it up and steamed it along with flaxseed tempeh. Whole wheat pasta sat cooking on the stove in order to add more substance to this meal. Zucchini, tempeh, and pasta were mixed together along with 1.5 tbsp of olive oil and 2 tbsp of balsamic vinegar (for 2 people).

DSC_0002

The last grape Fizzy Izzy helped keep me cool in our hot and sticky apartment. Also helping with the coolness factor was a few scoops of Ciao Bella Blackberry Cabernet Sorbetto.

Determined to get in at least a little bit of a workout, I cranked up the normally idle air conditioner and completed the 20 minute core yoga class from Yoga Downloads. Whole body shaking and muscles screaming, controlling my breath was impossible. Just getting through this class was hard enough. This is one that I hope to improve.

Tomorrow I am off to Coney Island for real!

Goodnight

Leave a Reply

