Inwood Greenmarket

Soy milk, yogurt, various tofus and tempehs, orange juice, even a fine selection of fruits. Our seemingly well stocked fridge was missing vegetables. Time to try out a new greenmarket.

Saturday was a beautiful day, especially in the morning. I was craving a farmer’s market but didn’t want to deal with the masses at Union Square. James and I found the perfect compromise and headed up to Inwood for the weekly Inwood greenmarket. The market is set right next to Inwood park, and for a few moments, I forgot that I was in New York City.

Onions

IMG_0473

Carrots

IMG_0474

Sunflowers

IMG_0477

Fruit

IMG_0480

The most photogenic vegetable of the day, rainbow chard:

IMG_0483

To replenish my shopping energy, I snacked on an apple cider donut

IMG_0482

Here are our purchases, unpacked and ready to complete a balanced fridge :

DSC_0022

This enormous head of lettuce was only $1.50

DSC_0020

Local New York peaches

DSC_0023

Also purchased a loaf of olive bread, a loaf of sliced whole grain bread, and apple cider

DSC_0028

All too often I buy basil, put it in the fridge, and forget about it until it is too late. This time I used the fragrant basil right away to make almond pesto.

DSC_0044

Pesto recipe

  • 2 cups of basil
  • 1/4 cup almonds (or more to taste)
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup olive oil

Put the basil, almonds, salt, and lemon juice into a food processor and chop until pasty. Add olive oil, and mix in the food processor until desired consistency.

I couldn’t resist pesto with olive bread, so I made these open faced sandwiches for lunch.

DSC_0047

DSC_0053

There’s nothing quite like a super fresh meal straight from the farmer’s market.

That afternoon I received another package from Oregon! A sake and sushi set from my friend Holland, along with a couple treats:

DSC_0066

I can’t wait to get out there for a visit in September!

Time for lunch and an afternoon of teaching.

2 responses to “Inwood Greenmarket

  1. Your pictures are beautiful.I feel like I am in VT.I am in my garden and I will pick my dinner fresh from the plants all asking to be eaten.The only difference is we had to put alot of hours in to grow these plants.Hours or money?We all make our own choices…

  2. Pingback: Real Yogurt and Kabocha Squash « Lost in the Neon Fruit Supermarket

Leave a Reply

