Columbia Cottage

Running was not fun today. It was a very bad idea to go to the gym late last night and then expect to have a decent run early this morning. My legs felt as though they were moving through a thick mixture of glue. 2 miles seemed like 50, and I was in a surprisingly angry mood for no good reason. This is a mistake I will never, ever make again.

Breakfast was an energizing bowl of oats with yogurt, blueberries, and almond butter. Oh yeah, and a brownie on the side!

DSC_0001

I finally purchased more spinach for a green monster today, but I only had about one scoop of soy yogurt left and no soy milk. Feeling a little adventurous, I added apple sauce and apple cider to my yogurt, spinach, and peach. Best green monster yet!

DSC_0003

For lunch James made a gigantic salad. We are really working through the huge head of lettuce we bought at the greenmarket. The salad included pinto beans, cranberries, heart of palm, green onions, and tomatoes tossed with a homemade vinaigrette. If you are craving a tasty summer salad but feeling uncreative, check out this article from the New York Times by The Minimalist (Mark Bittman): 101 Simple Salads for the Season

DSC_0011

It was a long afternoon of working and teaching. The last thing I wanted to do was cook, so James and I went with some friends to our favorite Chinese restaurant, Columbia Cottage (111th & Amsterdam). Serving standard Chinese fare with a sizable vegan selection, Columbia Cottage offers a free 1/2 carafe of cheap box wine with each meal as well as complimentary tea. With dishes averaging around $8.95, sometimes James and I split one dish bringing our whole meal with tip to around $12! Tonight we each ordered a vegan entree and shared. I ordered bean curd with snow peas (right side of plate) and he ordered sesame bean curd (left side of plate).

IMG_0491

Of course I had wine (2 glasses) and tea and a fortune cookie. Our friends wanted to continue the evening with more drinks, so we headed to Campo on 114th & Broadway. I ordered a gin gimlet, and then stuck to water for the rest of the night.

I apologize for the short and less than detailed post, but I have an early morning tomorrow.

One response to “Columbia Cottage

  1. 101 salads what wise guruh told you about this article

Leave a Reply

