Kiwi Burns

Ten tempted fruit flies have met their astringent death at the bottom of a vinegar filled TJ wine bottle. Two more are proving elusive. A fresh batch of vinegar may be needed; these are desperate times.

Sunday morning, having found some reasonably priced raspberries, I added them to my morning bowl of oats, soy yogurt, and almond butter. I savored each bulbous, juicy berry not knowing when they would next be available.

DSC_0003

I had a ton of work to do at home yesterday, so I made myself my usual green monster to get through the day. This GM had spinach, soy yogurt, peach, and almond milk. It got the job done.

DSC_0008

I also snacked on a bowl of cherries in my favorite container from Fishs Eddy.

DSC_0012

After my snack of a GM and cherries, I really wasn’t that hungry for lunch. I did make myself a piece of bread with almond butter. This Qunioa bread from Trader Joe’s is packed with protein. I also opened up a new jar of almond butter, Trader Joe’s brand. The flavor is fine, but I definitely did not like it as much as my last jar. I don’t like chunky nut butters, and bits of almond were getting stuck in my teeth. What a problem to have.

DSC_0016

DSC_0017

By the time James got home from work that evening, I had been working inside all day. We decided to walk down the street to a bar/restaurant called Toast. This place is very low key and reasonably priced. Not the healthiest fare, but they have reasonably decent veg options. I ordered a Boylan’s Ginger Ale and an eggplant, zucchini, sun-dried tomato, and pesto sandwich with fries.

IMG_0534

IMG_0536

The sandwich tasted great, but be warned, I did not feel like I was eating health food as grease dripped down my fingers and I tried to prevent the mess from reaching my elbows. Good place for comfort food and a group of friends.

*******

This morning I ran a quick 1 mile on the treadmill at 8:20. Not so bad for me. I spent the rest of my time at the gym doing total body strengthening. Look for more about my new training program tomorrow.

I had a meeting after my oatmeal breakfast, and I was starving by the time I got home. Satisfying my hummus craving, I made a hummus sandwich with almond butter, lettuce, and tomato on quinoa bread.

DSC_0019

Along with a blue/purple/red spectrum fruit salad.

DSC_0026

An afternoon of teaching led to pasta. I made pasta fazool from Veganomicon. Very simple: just cook up some pasta. While the pasta is cooking, put some olive oil in the bottom of a large pot, add wine, tomatoes, herbs (I used thyme and oregano), salt, and pepper. Cook about 20 minutes until sauce reduced. Add pasta and beans of choice to pot with sauce. Mix and enjoy. I often come home from work around dinner time to the smell of various dinners wafting out into the hallway. This time it was my kitchen that smelled so savory! Dinner was accompanied by a glass of red wine.

DSC_0035

Dessert was needed, but a ton of sugar was not. The solution was an after dinner green monster. This time I left out the soy yogurt and used: 1 peach, 1 kiwi, spinach, almond milk, and flaxseed. It tasted great, but I will never make this combination again. The acidity of the kiwi burned my tongue and mouth so much that it was impossible to finish this drink.

DSC_0042

It’s been a very long day, but I have a fun and informative post planned for tomorrow.

Enjoy your night!

Leave a Reply

