Bleach

I could feel the air working against me. A lump was rising in my throat. Breathing that should have been deep and controlled became shallow and rapid. Along with the heat and humidity already present at 8:00 this morning, the air quality was dreadful. I only had to run 2 miles today, but it was not easy. At one point I ran past two men sanding the side of a building. The cement and brick dust was hanging like a cloud in the air, and I tried to cover my mouth with my hand. I think that it is safe to say I will be running in the gym tomorrow until a storm washes away all of this pollution. Yes, I am delicate and used to Vermont air!

Hunger diminished by the heat, I skipped the oatmeal this morning and had a bowl of Original Puffins instead. Of course, I added soy yogurt, almond butter, and blueberries for some staying power.

DSC_0002

I had an organic black plum for a mid morning snack. I’m probably the messiest plum eater this side of the Mississippi, hence the big paper towel.

DSC_0007

Missing my daily dose of oatmeal I tried a new addition to my green monster for lunch. I put some oatmeal into my blender and added spinach, yogurt, soy mile, apple sauce, and a little bit of agave nectar. I liked how thick the oatmeal made my smoothie, but it did create a bit of a chalky flavor. Definitely tolerable, but not the best.

DSC_0011

Not pictured: a few small spoonfuls of B&J FroYo. Oh, and some small olives! It was a snacking day.

I spent the whole day moving and cleaning under furniture, dusting, sweeping, putting away clothes, and bleaching counter tops. Who in the world thought it was a good idea to put WHITE counter tops in a kitchen? I hate bleach, it makes me feel sick, but honestly, it is the only way that I can get the stains off the counters. What an awful chemical. James and I have already decided that white will not be a prominent color in our future home.

James made a trip to Trader Joe’s today and brought me home 2 presents. First–two bars of tea tree oil soap (according to him, because I stink):

DSC_0017

Second: a bag of omega trail mix. He knows that I am slowly learning to like nuts, and that so far I only like almonds. But, I guess he thought that I needed to take more action in the nut department because this has almonds, cashews, walnuts, and pistachios! I’m saving it for a bus ride to Boston on Friday.

DSC_0019

Dinner was a full meal:

DSC_0024

I made grilled asparagus: Lemon juice, olive oil, salt, fresh mint put in a bag with asparagus to marinate. Then grill.

DSC_0027

Tofu: Heat olive oil in a pan. Add tofu and cook until just beginning to brown. Add soy sauce, red chili flakes, and nutritional yeast to taste.

DSC_0029

And I used left over kale to make massaged kale salad.

DSC_0031

This whole meal was very easy to make and required little cooking time. It has been so hard to cook at all in this steamy weather. After a littler more cleaning, I needed to get out of the bleach fumed apartment, so James and I met a friend for a glass of wine. We ended up ordering pita and hummus as well. Like I said, lots of snacking today!

Tomorrow I need to finish cleaning the bathroom and my office. I also have to pack for Cape Cod, which shouldn’t take too long.

Goodnight!

Leave a Reply

