Vegan Dinner

I spent all day yesterday in the kitchen preparing dinner for a few of our friends. But first, fuel to keep me going.

A bowl of oats with soy yogurt, blueberries, blackberries, chia seeds, and almond butter:

DSC_0006

I also made a green monster with ground flax seed, spinach, soy yogurt, peach and… coconut water! Fantastic.

DSC_0010

See The Joy of Vegan Baking out and ready to be used?

The first dish prepared was a kidney bean dip with chopped jalapeno:

DSC_0012

Pita chips topped with paprika for dipping:

DSC_0053

Having started with the appetizer, I moved to the end of the meal–dessert. Chocolate Crinkle Cookies from The Joy of Vegan Baking. Before the oven:

DSC_0029

And after:

DSC_0056

These are the best cookies that I have ever made.

Next up? Tofu Ricotta Cheese for my stuffed figs:

DSC_0018

The figs:

DSC_0043

Final product (they look like sea creatures):

DSC_0060

For the main meal, I made Cashew Pineapple Quinoa and Chile Cornmeal Crusted Tofu.

Here’s the Quinoa:

DSC_0048

And the tofu:

DSC_0049

This all took hours of preparation, and I was in the kitchen even as our friends began to arrive. Most recipes are from Veganomicon. I love this cookbook, but the more that I use it, the more little errors I am finding.

Yesterday was a rest day, and today I have 40 minutes of cross scheduled.

Enjoy!

10 responses to “Vegan Dinner

  1. Your photos are superb!!

  2. julia and julie was a fun movie.I did feel good after seeing it.I even purchased The Art of French Cooking and will try a poulet recipe.I just like reading cook books.

  3. About cleaning the fridge.Some one who is OCD is usually a good fridge organizer

  4. Try 2008 torrontes cafayate organic wine packaged green: yellow plus blue equals green.Wine packaged in recyclable containers not half bad.organically grown the whit is yummy.Product of argentina.

  5. Those looks super yummy….
    thanx for sharing :D

  6. The chocolate crinkle cookies look delish! Thanks for sharing.

  7. That’s a great vegan feast. Really good effort. I commend on your hard work. It definitely paid off.

    CheapAppetite from foodbuzz

  8. OMG it looks delicious. Where do you live and when can I come over for dinner?

Leave a Reply

