Juicy Burgers

Morning oats were delicious as usual…

DSC_0198

… there was just one problem.  The blackberries tasted like chemicals.  Regular blackberries are expensive enough as it is, so organic berries are an unattainable luxury for us.  But actually being able to taste chemicals?  What’s going on here?  I scooped out the contaminated berries, and finished off the bowl.

My stomach was not feeling well today, so by the time that i was hungry for lunch, it was about 4:00.  I marinated a few portabello mushrooms in cooking wine, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and soy sauce, and cooked them on my grill pan.  Eating them burger style, hummus and tomato enhanced the sandwich.  See how juicy they ended up being?

DSC_0199

DSC_0201

I was supposed to run 3.5 miles today, but with the heat and my stomach, that run was rescheduled until tomorrow.  Instead James and I walked about 73 blocks.  Motion made me feel ten times better.  We walked along Central Park West to look at some of the storm damage and destroyed trees.

Right now, James is ordering our plane tickets to Mexico City for the Society for Ethnomusicology conference in November.  I have never been to Mexico, so this is an exciting trip. We are also headed to Oregon in less than a month for a wedding!

If you haven’t already, please check out my health care story.

Have good night!

2 responses to “Juicy Burgers

Leave a Reply

