General Tsao’s Tempeh

Browse a list of meaningless names.  Research names on unreliable patient review sites.  Call the office.  Wait on hold for ten minutes.  “Are you accepting new patients?”  “No, sorry.”  Repeat.

And so my morning went.  Finding a doctor, especially in New York City is hard, but I finally found one to list on my health insurance forms.  I cannot tell you how much (what I consider) bad music that I had to be subjected to while on hold.  Blah

If it was not for my bowl of oats, failure would have been certain:

DSC_0184

I love when we have raspberries!

How I make my basic oats (for 2)

  • 1 c. oatmeal of choice
  • 1 c. non-dairy milk (hemp or almond are my favorites)
  • 3/4 c. water
  • Add all ingredients to pot
  • Stir frequently until reaches desired consistency
  • Top with whatever you want. In this picture: soygurt, almond butter, blueberries, raspberries

My appetite came back today!  I celebrated with a hummus sandwich–

IMG_0688

Trail mix:

DSC_0189

A green monster (peach, spinach, flax seed, coconut water, soygurt, and ice):

DSC_0192

A peanut butter sandwich, and chips and salsa.  How’s that for lunch and snacks?

All of that fuel was much needed for my 3.5 mile run today.  I managed to squeeze it in between two big storms.  There’s nothing like a flash of lightning to increase your speed!  Rain started falling as soon as I took my last steps… perfection!

James loves General Tsao’s Tofu, and he picked up some pre-made sauce from Trader Joe’s.  Unfortunately, for the first time ever, we were out of tofu!  I guess we really are cleaning out the fridge!  So instead, I made General Tsao’s Tempeh.

DSC_0197

Normally I make my own sauce, but it was really easy to cook the tempeh, stir in the sauce, and plop it on top of brown rice.

Tofu was replaced by Tempeh, but there is still one more replacement.  Broccoli is the traditional side for this dish, but instead, I steamed up some cauliflower that had been lurking in the back of the fridge.

DSC_0199

The whole plate:

DSC_0193

One of my best friends is coming to visit tomorrow, so I have a lot to look forward to!  Hopefully, a small amount of baking and some power cleaning will be done before she arrives.

Leave a Reply

