work

This is a donut peach:

DSC_0179

DSC_0183

This is a donut peach hanging out with some blueberries in a pool of oats:

DSC_0187

With the end of summer approaching (yes, I said it), the night before a new job felt like getting ready to go back to school.  Clothes began to accumulate in a pile, while a pile of unorganized papers found their way neatly to my bag.  James was in a charitable mood, and made a batch of blueberry muffins for me to have with my lunch.

DSC_0198

These vegan muffins use silken tofu in place of eggs.  The texture is different, but I like it much better.

Workity work… it feels so good to have more structure in my life.  Obviously, I have a lot to learn, but I’m excited.  For lunch, I found a bench outside and ate surrounded by a bunch of friendly construction workers.

Potato salad that I made for dinner last night:

IMG_0735

Boil potatoes, mix with olive oil, balsamic vinegar, salt, pepper, and herbs of your choice.

A muffin (half devoured):

IMG_0736

Oh hey, a Lara bar that I picked up this morning for a snack.  The cherry pie flavor is okay; it’s very tart:

IMG_0739

After work, I met James when I got off the subway (he works right there), and he treated me to a “first day of work” ice cream.  I really wanted chocolate twist, but they were out of chocolate. I got this instead (what’s a girl to do?):

IMG_0740

I decompressed for about an hour and a half before my 5 mile run.  Running has recently become comparable to meditation.  At first, my mind wanders, recapping the days events and tasks to be done.  Eventually, I focus in on breathing, the rhythm of my steps, and stare off at an invisible point in the distance.  A run like this leaves me spacey, internalized, and definitely not a conversationalist, but I feel 100% better.

We ran, we showered, and we went to grab a light bite to eat at Max Cafe.

Orange salad and a few small pieces of un-pictured bread (sorry, iPhone picture):

IMG_0741

Finally, James begged me to post a link to this video.  Enjoy.

BED.

Leave a Reply

