In Defense of Food

“The age of nutritionism.”  “Confusion” and “anxiety” about what to include in a daily diet. Confusion leading to major profit for companies and individuals.  Supplements galore.  Eat to create a healthy body, forget about a healthy mind.

Nine pages through In Defense of Food by Michael Pollan, and I am already pausing to reflect, savoring every detail of those first few paragraphs.  I never take vitamins.  I don’t drink supplements.  I do eat real food.  I eat real food in a scientific nutrient minded manner, and I do not spend enough time enjoying meals, enjoying company, enjoying the act of eating.

Ironically, as I was digesting Pollan’s prose, a sample package of Greens+ was sent to me.  Advertised as the original superfood, Greens+ is a powdery substance that is meant to be mixed with a liquid.  I was hesitant to rip open my packet, but decided to give it a shot.  Talk about eating for the nutrition facts… this stuff tastes awful!  Where is the enjoyment?  Feebly attempting to better the chalky flavor, I added almond milk, a scoop of chocolate, and agave nectar:

IMG_0768

Yuck

From Greens+: Greens Plus is a 100% natural blend of 29 nutrient-rich Superfoods, Sea Vegetables and High-Energy Herbal Extracts.  One serving of Greens Plus delivers more organic vitamins, essential minerals, live enzymes and high-ORAC antioxidants than 5 full servings of fresh fruits and vegetables, and provides every color in the dietary food spectrum, as recommended by the USDA.

Okay, but wouldn’t you rather eat those five servings of fruits and veggies?  Isn’t that the real, healthy, more enjoyable option?  Are you willing to replace food with vitamins and supplements?  People develop vitamin deficiencies, and perhaps supplements are necessary in that situation, but to maintain everyday good health, just eat a variety of real food… and enjoy it!

To wash down my morning science project, I had two whole wheat mini-bagels with tofu cream cheese.

IMG_0766

Braving the rainy weather, I headed down to Union Square for some shopping and farmer’s market browsing.  I brought back radishes:

IMG_0796

Sweet orange tomatoes:

IMG_0791

Fresh organic raspberries (so nice to have an option other than Driscoll’s):

IMG_0795

Kale:

IMG_0803

Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies:

IMG_0800

And wheat grass for the kitties:

IMG_0777

IMG_0787

Of course, Chester already regurgitated his portion onto the floor.

Before I could even unpack all of the produce, I started eating it.  Tomatoes, raspberries, cookie(s).

IMG_0804

Dinner saw the return of one of my all time favorite sandwiches: the radish sandwich.

IMG_0810

  • Slice radishes
  • Toast bread
  • Butter bread with Earth Balance
  • Put radishes on bread
  • Add salt and pepper
  • EAT

Of course, that was not enough sandwich to keep me full, so I also made a side salad with oranges and more of those fantastic tomatoes.

IMG_0809

Tonight I need to get ready for my first ever 6 mile run….

Leave a Reply

