3 day weekend, II

There was a time when a trip to Trader Joe’s was as simple as jumping in my car and driving 5-8 minutes.  Back in those golden days, these muffins were a weekly necessity.

DSC_0504

Super big, super moist, super addictive, and vegan.

DSC_0512

Now that a trip to Trader Joe’s means a Zipcar rental and crossing the GW bridge, or a 15 minute subway ride to Union Square, these muffins are a rare treat.  But you know, that is probably okay.

Sunday morning I veiled my oats with a pile of crumbled muffin.

DSC_0521

Muffin oats with soygurt kept me full for hours.

Sunday was my long run day, and the first day that I tried a new route.  The trail that runs the circumference of central park is 6 miles–just the distance that I needed to run.  Pre-run fuel–about 1.5  hours before setting out, I made a frozen berry smoothie with coconut water, flax seed, soygurt, and peach.  If you have not tried frozen berries in your smoothie, you must (have I said that before? I feel like I have… but really, try it).

DSC_0542

I also had a handful of fruit and nuts trail mix.  Whenever I eat trail mix, I pick around all the other goodies and only eat the almonds and dried fruit.  ABC trail mix solved the problem–

DSC_0546

Almonds, Blueberries, Cranberries, Golden Raisins (I guess they left off the G).

One more task before the run–modeling my new neon green running shirt.

DSC_0549

Special.

The Run:

James and I walked about 1 mile to central park, checked the time, and took off.  Right away we were challenged by a steep hill.  Have you ever started your run with a hill?  Not fun.  James thought he wasn’t going to make it.  Motivation levels plummeted.  The hill crest in sight, we pushed through and recovered strength, enjoyment, motivation on the downhill side.  The weather was perfect for a run.  Crisp, breathable air.  Smog and smoke and pollen were cleared away by a cool breeze.  Pale skin was sheltered from the burning sun by an overcast sky.  If this is what it is like to run in the fall, I am hooked.  6 miles flew by.  With so many tourists, horses, boats, buskers, bikes, and runners to occupy my mind, I never once got bored.  Most of the park inhabitants were enjoying a leisurely afternoon.  Running faster than bikes and horses was a strange sensation.  I was also able to see the tree graveyard where many of the tree trunks, branches, and leaves destroyed from the storm are awaiting their final destination–the wood chipper.  I had no speed goal, but I was timing my run.  My legs just carried me the whole time, and I was able to achieve a steady rhythm of movement and breathing.  6 miles in 58 minutes!  Under one hour!  In Oregon, I would sometimes run 5 miles on the treadmill at the YMCA.  That took me an hour, and it was a struggle.  It feels so good to know that I am actually improving.

Dinner:

I needed to use up two sweet potatoes, so I made my signature chiptole-lime mashed sweet potatoes.

DSC_0556

  • Peel sweet potatoes, cut into cubes
  • Steam sweet potatoes until soft enough to mash
  • While potatoes are steaming heat butter (earth balance), fresh lime juice, and chipotle powder in a pan
  • Mash potatoes and mix with the butter mixture

All of my measurements are to taste.  I do something different every time.  This time it was 1tbs of butter, juice of 1 whole lime, and 1/4 tsp of chipotle powder.

Dinner made complete with a Magic Hat Circus Boy:

DSC_0561

I love you Magic Hat, but Circus Boy is not my fave.

2 responses to “3 day weekend, II

  1. Oh yum.Thanks for the sweet potato recipe.I had forgoten about how great that is…

  2. i want a trader joes muffin.

Leave a Reply

