“Lasagna”

Work was very busy yesterday.  One of those days where you want to come home, sit down, and not get up until it is time to crawl into bed.  I was one foot away from reclining on the couch for the rest of the night, completely ignoring my 4.5 mile run, when I remembered that my friend Hannah had wanted to come running with me.  Deciding to use a friend as motivation, I texted Hannah.  Positive response: I would run.  Negative response: hello couch.  Running it was.

Not having a ton of energy, I left off the .5 and ran/walked 4 miles. Definitely better than the nothing I was planning.

Dinner–

Somewhere I read about noodle-less lasagna.  Here is my version:

Ingredients

  • 4 zucchini
  • pasta sauce
  • at least 2 tomatoes
  • cheese

Yes, I bought cheese, and used it.  Obviously not a regular occurrence, or one that I intend to repeat very often.  The vegan cheese that I was thinking about using was partially hydrogenated, so at this point, real cheese is the better option.

Method:

  • cut zucchini into diagonal slices
  • slice tomatoes into round slices, and cut the slices in half if necessary
  • grate cheese
  • line the bottom of a casserole dish with zucchini
  • place a layer of tomato on top of zucchini
  • cover with sauce, and then cheese
  • repeat–zucchini, tomato, sauce, cheese

DSC_0496

  • bake at 350 degrees for about 20-25 minutes

DSC_0506

James commented that we should never use noodles again.  I don’t know about that, but this was very good.

Have you noticed my lack of green monsters lately?  Spinach has disappeared from the grocery store.  Where did it go?  I wanted to add a layer of spinach to my “lasagna” but it is nowhere to be found.

I am Oregon bound on Friday, so tomorrow will be crazy with work, packing, and cleaning.

One response to ““Lasagna”

Leave a Reply

