Oregon Finale

James and I saved a hike up Spencer Butte for our last full day in Oregon.  This is a trail that I am very familiar with and hiked many many many times over the spring, summer, and fall months.

But first, we made a trip to Market of Choice for breakfast.  The breakfast of champions: 1/2 a cinnamon bun, a cup of soygurt, odwalla juice, and a whole wheat bagel.  Yes, I ate it all.  No time for pictures!

We ate our breakfast in the Spencer Butte parking lot, and were greeted by these creatively graffitied port-a-potties.

DSC_0652

The trail itself is steep, rocky, full of over-hanging green branches and towering trees.  When you finally reach the peak, the trees clear away, and you are rewarded with a fantastic panoramic view of Eugene and several of the Cascade mountains.  Just watch out for poison oak on your way up.

DSC_0669

DSC_0680

We spent our final night with Jodie, Anthony, Holland, and Josh.  Our goal was to help Jodie and Anthony make a significant dent in their left-over wedding feast.  I’d say that we did a pretty good job.  Backyard garden was admired, food was eaten, beer and wine were drunk, and mahjong was played.  With such a full three days, we were all beat and called it an early night.

****

Around 9am the next morning Holland prepared us a goodbye breakfast.  Crepes, homemade plum compote (using the plums that grow from a tree in her backyard), scrambled eggs (made by Josh), and homemade banana bread.  What great hosts!  I, on the other hand, was not a great food blogger, and missed a breakfast photo opportunity.

James and I left for the airport around 10am and had no problem with our flights.  When we arrived in Salt Lake City for our layover, we grabbed lunch at a bar called Squatters. Immediately we knew that we needed to try the Polygamy Porter.  It was early in the day, so we split this pint.

IMG_0916

IMG_0917

On a breakfast-food kick, I ordered the Vegan Breakfast for lunch.  Scrambled Tofu, and a Bagel.

IMG_0918

A long weekend of indulgent eating left me craving greens.  We split this salad with lime cilantro dressing on the side.

IMG_0919

After a long cab ride from JFK, we made it home around 1 am, and I was up for work by 6… which felt like 3am west coast time!  Needless to say, I struggled to catch up and have been exhausted.  Very little running was done.  Just when I began to feel like I was back in the groove, I got sick.  Of course–traveling, air planes, not enough sleep, a city that is too crowded.  I think that I have run about 5 miles in the past two weeks.  I will be running again soon!

Posting has also been a bit slow lately.  Now that I am finished with the epic Oregon recap, you can count on more regular posts.  There is also a big project in the works….

Good night!

Leave a Reply

