Real Yogurt and Kabocha Squash

It all starts with dull irritation in the lower back.  Next, a sense of awareness controls the pace of lingering early morning dreams.  I know that I am sleeping, yet I am also awake.  Undoubtedly the bed is warm and cozy.  On Saturdays I could stay in bed all day, but the ever increasing back pain, uneasy dreaming, and promise of a trip to the greenmarket make an early rise inevitable.

Still in the early days of my October Challenge, temptation was minimized by the Inwood Greenmarket.  Organic real food was in the majority.

Shopping is not one of those activities that energizes me (as it does some people), so I started the day with a bowl of multi-grain oats, soygurt, almond butter, and unsweetened shaved coconut.

DSC_0001

This breakfast is such a staple in my diet, that I actually did not even think about my challenge until the last bite.  What is soy yogurt anyway?  How can it not be highly processed?  Don’t I get enough soy in my diet anyway?  Here is a list of ingredients in Silk Soy Yogurt:

Organic soymilk (filtered water, whole organic soybeans), rice starch, dextrose, organic evaporated cane juice, tricalcium phosphate, natural flavors, cultured glucose syrup solids, pectin, locust bean gum, ascorbic acid (vitamin c), yogurt cultures

That is about 13 ingredients (way over the recommended 5 from Mr. Pollan).  Starches and sugars, flavorings, things that my body does not need.  In reaction to this “discovery,” I made a decision that has been lingering in the back of my mind for a long time.  I have decided that I no longer feel the need to be vegan.  With 3 years of veganism behind me, I have lived the lifestyle and can incorporate what I have learned into a new phase of eating.  Why not eat less processed food that is more real (what a strange thing to say) in the form of organic cheese, butter, and yogurt from grass-fed and humanely treated cows, goats, and sheep.  Sounds good to me.

One of the first things that I picked up at the Inwood Greenmarket was organic yogurt from Hawthorn Valley Farm. I recycled the plain yogurt cups already, so I cannot tell you the exact ingredients (there were about 3), but here are the ingredients in the Maple Vanilla yogurt:

Pasteurized biodynamic/organic whole milk, organic maple syrup, organic vanilla, living cultures.

The only sugars come from a whole food–maple syrup.

Upon returning from the greenmarket, I walked in the door, threw some things into the fridge, and made myself a bowl of the plain yogurt with Hawthorne Valley’s Honey Almond Granola.

DSC_0011

DSC_0017

If you are in New York City, look for Hawthorne Valley at the Inwood Greenmarket and the Union Square Greenmarket.

With more winter vegetables starting to make an appearance at the greenmarkets, I was happy to find a Kabocha squash.

DSC_0023

Following this recipe for Sweet and Spicy Roasted Kabocha, I cut the squash in half, and wrapped up one half to put in the freezer for later use.

DSC_0031

Next, I scooped out the pumpkin-like innards, and cut the squash into 1/4 inch slices.

DSC_0046

Toss with organic raw sugar, ground chipotle pepper (or pepper of choice), ground cumin, cinnamon, nutmeg, and soy sauce, and bake at 400 degrees f for 10-15 minutes on each side.  The skin on Kabocha is actually very thin and good to eat.

DSC_0054

Squash french fries enjoyed at the actual dinner table with my husband and a bottle of Anchor porter.

DSC_0050

Hit just about every guideline on the October Challenge on Saturday.

Are you participating in the challenge?  Would you like to?  Let me know!  Share your ideas, recipes, shopping advice, successes, challenges… anything!

3 responses to “Real Yogurt and Kabocha Squash

  1. Wowza does that kabocha look good – yum!

  2. Pingback: Long Run « Lost in the Neon Fruit Supermarket

  3. Pingback: October Challenge–Union Square Greenmarket « Lost in the Neon Fruit Supermarket

Leave a Reply

