8 miles!

Oh hey, with all this talk of real food, I forgot to mention that I went on a five mile run on Friday.  It was much needed, and I am continually amazed by the comfort of my Nike Free shoes.

Today I was scheduled for an 8 mile run, so I spent much of the day fueling up.  What did I start with?  Oatmeal in an almost empty almond butter jar topped with maple yogurt and shaved coconut.

DSC_0002

DSC_0006

I spent the rest of the day snacking, and managed to take not even a single photo.  Bread with peanut butter, orange cherry tomatoes, chocolate covered ginger, cherry pie Larabar, apples with almond butter, and probably more that I can’t remember due to lack of documentation.

8 miles was fun, but not easy.  My right hip started to hurt towards the end, and my left knee was sore.  However, just thinking about using my inner thigh muscles significantly reduced the pain in my knee.

I swallowed a few bugs and ended up with a few more in my eyes.  My nose still will not stop dripping on these long runs.  When I finally stopped running, my throat tickled from the heavy breathing of cold air.  But you know what?  I can’t wait to get back out there and run even farther next Sunday.  I have stretched and iced and plan to rest tomorrow and maybe even Tuesday as well.

Back to food, our credit card company gave us a fantastic deal on Food & Wine magazine.  Our first issue came yesterday, and I spent at least an hour clipping out recipes and ideas for Thanksgiving.  Tonight I tried out the recipe for kale with lemon, onions, capers, currants, and olives.  Minor substitutions were made–no currants in the apt., so I used dried cranberries.  No capers either, so I just left them out.  The recipe calls for 3 tbs of olive oil and 3 tbs of butter.  This seemed like overkill to me, so I used 2 tbs of each.  I also used veggie broth instead of chicken broth.

This was so. good.  Should I make it for Thanksgiving dinner?  I’m not sure if my family will like kale, but I love it!

DSC_0428

Close up:

DSC_0439

Two pieces of raw milk cheese on the side:

DSC_0447

A slice of homemade whole wheat bread (mine is the little one in the front, James had the two pieces piled high with butter).

DSC_0453

More tomatoes

DSC_0457

And a glass of 3 buck chuck.

DSC_0451

After washing the dishes, I was still hungry, so I made a smoothie.  Spinach, frozen blueberries, raspberry yogurt, flaxseed, and coconut water.  A purple monster.

DSC_0461

Now I need a full night of sleep to be ready for work in the morning.  Good night!

2 responses to “8 miles!

  1. yeah you should probably make that

  2. i think butternut squash and apple soup yum and choclate cream pie

Leave a Reply

