Stuffed Squash

Mixed fruit oatmeal captured in early morning glow.

DSC_0430

So beautiful.  What would I do without you oatmeal?

Snacking is a little bit impossible at my job.  Books and scores do not mix well with food and beverage.  The only way to make  it from 6:30am to roughly noon without the slightest bit of nourishment is that radiant bowl of oats pictured above with yogurt and almond butter.

I had plenty of time to make a nice dinner last night, so I went for stuffed squash.  James and I purchased these baby acorn squashes at the Union Square greenmarket.

DSC_0436

  • First cut the squash in half length wise.  You will need a sharp knife.

DSC_0439

  • Scoop out the middle, place flat side down on an oiled pan, and cook at 400f for 30 minutes
  • While the squash is cooking, make your stuffing.  Mine contained crumbled bread, almonds, Russian red kale, onions, sage, thyme, and lemon.
  • When squash is done cooking, stuff with filling (overstuff as much as possible) and cook for 20ish more minutes

DSC_0464

There were some beets lingering in the back of the refrigerator, so I made a side dish while the squash was cooking for a second time.  I peeled and grated the beets (this is messy, be careful!) along with two purple carrots.

DSC_0448

And then, very simply, I cooked the grated veggies in orange juice and spices for about 10 minutes.

DSC_0459

All together–

DSC_0472

Perhaps due to the 10 mile run on Sunday, I was still pretty hungry after dinner so I made a spinach smoothie with yogurt, coconut water, and frozen mixed berries.  I put the whole thing in a bowl along with my last bit of granola.

DSC_0477

Following all of that appetizing food, I leave you with this:

DSC_0533

Ignoring the fact that I need a pedicure, look at my fourth toenail.  Is it going to fall off?  I think that it is rubbing on my shoe when I run.  Any suggestions?

2 responses to “Stuffed Squash

  1. Yum, that all looks really good! Well, except for the toes. Hehe. Hmm…I have lost my big toenail twice from running! My only advice is don’t wiggle it – it makes it worse. ;)

  2. did you know you can cook winter squash in the microwave

Leave a Reply

