Busy Week

Where have I been?  My week was full of yoga, NJ shopping, opera, and running.  Allow me to elaborate–

Right after work on Tuesday, James and I enjoyed the remains of a beautiful fall day with a run.  Usually I have a specific mileage goal before I set out, but this time I was undecided.  It was one of those “I’ll run however far I feel like it” kind of days.  Well, I felt like running five miles!  Nothing eventful to report.

Pizza cravings are intense, and after my run, I needed pizza.  There was going to be no waiting for dough to rise, so I used this pizza dough recipe and had a pie in about 45 minutes.

Topped with pizza sauce, shiitake mushrooms, tomatoes, spinach, organic cheese, and baby bell peppers.

DSC_0487

Everything except for the pizza sauce (local) and the cheese (organic) was from the farmer’s market.  The best pizza that I have ever made.

DSC_0500

Close up

DSC_0505

On the plate

DSC_0522

And enjoyed with Goats do Roam (imported by Vineyard Brands where my auntie works).

DSC_0513

Wednesday night, I attended my first yoga class since high school due to the encouragement of my friend Katrina.  The studio, Laughing Lotus Yoga Center, has locations in New York and San Francisco (hi Janet!).  After signing in with the door man and exiting the elevator on the third floor, I was greeted by the strengthening scent of incense.  The studio itself is warm, colorful, and friendly.  New experiences bring out my self-conscious side, but due to the comforting environment (and maybe the fact that Katrina was there with me), I did not feel at all intimidated. After twisting and stretching my stiff runners body, I felt everything open up.  Does that make sense?  My tight hips were given some relief at last!

The class was LONG.  Something like 6:45-8:20.  So, by the time I finally got home, tired and hungry, it was after nine.  Lucky me, James saved the day with farm fresh TACOS!

DSC_0429

That is James’ plate.  He likes tacos.

Thursday I was picked up by James and a Zipcar immediately after work and swept off to New Jersey.  As I have posted about before, James and I do a trip to NJ every couple of months to buy necessities like toilet paper for cheaper than can be found in NYC.  However, I also needed to find a pair of shoes and warm weather running clothes.  Shoes–I bought my first pair of high heels in years and years and years.  I’ll have to post some pictures soon.  Warm running gear–check out Target!  I cannot afford fancy stuff (‘eh hem lululemon), and Target has been good to me.  I found a pull-over running jacket with thumb holes for $12 and a nice pair of running “tights” for about $25.  Good enough for me.  We also stopped at Ikea for a few kitchen items.  Behold, dinner–

IMG_0963

Scandinavian pizza?  October challenge fail.

By the time Friday rolled around, I was so tired that I honestly can’t even remember what I had for dinner.  I think it was something easy like pasta and rolls.  James and I were in a hurry to get to the opera!

Most of you who read probably know that my bachelors and masters degrees are in music.  That being said, NYC is the perfect place for me to be, and one of my not so secret obsessions is going to the opera.  Friday, we went to see Berlioz’s La Damnation de Faust at the Met.  I saw this new production last year and loved it.  This year however, I felt let down.  The first half especially was sloppy, both in the staging and the lack of ensemble in the orchestra.  Perhaps I was so blown away last year because the music was so well put together under James Levine.  This year (in my opinion), the marches were too fast, the orchestra was too loud and overbearing, and the overall effect was frantic.  To be fair, I did not have the best seats, but that does not account for many of the downfalls of this opening night.  Without being moved and absorbed by what I was hearing, the video images that I was seeing just looked silly, out of place, and way too literal.

Yesterday, I went to another yoga class, early morning this time.  The goal is for yoga to help with my running.  This class was much different from the first, but variety is generally a good thing.  After yoga, James and I headed to the Union Square green market to stock up for the week.  Despite the rain, it was still a busy market day.

For Saturday dinner, I used the Red Russian Kale that we purchased to make bulgur and red lentil pilaf with kale.  This is something that I have made before, but yesterday, creativity was lacking.

Red kale–

DSC_0439

Final product–

DSC_0444

I also cooked and pureed our little pumpkin for spiced pumpkin bread.

DSC_0481

To make pumpkin puree, just cut the pumpkin in half, scrape out the seeds, put face down in a baking pan with 1 cup of water, and cook in the oven at 350 degrees f for 1.5 hours. When done, scoop out all of the pumpkin flesh and puree in a food processor.  No need for canned pumpkin!

DSC_0464

I had enough batter left for two muffins

DSC_0456

Today, I finally achieved a goal that I have been working on since June.  But, you’ll have to wait until tomorrow to hear about it.

Goodnight!

One response to “Busy Week

  1. Hi, Sayer,
    Thanks for the great shot of Goats and the VB mention.
    Goats do Roam will have a new label for the 2008 vintage.
    Auntie Alison

Leave a Reply

