Time for Dinner

Food photography gets put on hold during the daylight hours.  My Nikon does not travel to work with me, and iPhone photos are anything but inspiring.  If you haven’t noticed, I am still trying to figure out how to balance all of my interests with a full-time job.  Running, cooking, blogging, yoga, concert going, lots of reading, learning Russian, and the list goes on.  All of this needs to take place in the 5 hours I have from the time that I get home to the time that I go to bed.  Maybe I should start using a calendar to map out the best use of my time.

Regardless of my boring daytime meals, dinner has been worth struggling with poor lighting to photograph.  Here is a week’s worth of organic and local food projects–

Leek and purple carrot mashed potatoes:

DSC_0440

The purple carrots are only purple on the very outer layer.

***

Apple and quinoa stuffed butternut squash:

DSC_0452

They look like the front of a guitarron (those giant Mexican bass guitars) when you cut them in half:

DSC_0455

The filling was quinoa mixed with butter, apples, cinnamon, and nutmeg.

DSC_0460

DSC_0465

Butternut squash is so good.  I bought more for this week.

***

One of the easiest meals that I have ever made– Escarole Soup.

DSC_0480

Veg broth, escarole, carrots, onions, white beans, salt and pepper, tomatoes.

***

Portabella Mushroom Pizzas and Swiss Chard (my favorite):

DSC_0440

DSC_0455

DSC_0459

***

And tonight, I made my very first whole wheat calzones with mozzarella, cheddar, spinach, and a little tomato sauce:

DSC_0472

A little bit of the filling leaked out:

DSC_0478

One response to “Time for Dinner

  1. Drooling over these! I must make those potatoes soon.

    I’m planning on making butternut squash gnocchi this week. Mmm!

Leave a Reply

