Delayed Debut

A few items to make their very delayed blog debut!

Juicer

My husband got a juicer for Christmas.  As juice virgins, James’ first test was orange juice.  A fail-proof standard.

Then we made carrot juice.  Carrots, apples and lemon.

Becoming more adventurous, a few days later we tried beet juice.  Having read somewhere that you are not supposed to use just beets because they are so potent, I added a few other ingredients.

One 8oz cup of juice: 2 beets, 4 carrots, 1 apple, 1/2 lemon.

A lot of produce gets squeezed into one fresh glass of juice.  And fresh it was–sweet, tangy, earthy.  Maybe green juice will be next.  Kale?

Two new cookbooks

First, Clean Food by Terry Walters.

As a lesson learned from my October challenge, I have been eating as seasonally and as local as possible.  This cookbook is divided into seasons and promotes the use of fresh and unprocessed local produce.  I decided to test the recipe for orange ginger baked tofu.  While the tofu was baking, I steamed red kale and cooked brown Basmati rice.

The idea of tofu over a bed of chewy kale was an attempt to recreate my favorite dish from Wild Ginger.  Visiting NYC?  Live here?  You must try this place.

Next new cookbook–

How to Cook Everything Vegetarian, Mark Bittman

A couple of weeks ago, James and I suffered brutal winds and slow-moving subways to take in the sights and smells of Jackson Heights–mainly Little India.  We came back with beans of various shapes, sizes, and color, fragrant Basmati rice, ghee, and spices galore.  Obviously, it was the perfect night for a home-cooked Indian feast.

This cookbook really does cover just about everything vegetarian including naan:

Lentil dhal:

And Aloo Gobi:

All with Basmati rice and Darjeeling tea.

After all that food, we only had room for liquid dessert (thanks Marsha!).

With so many new recipes to choose from,  I have spent a lot of time in the kitchen.  More time cooking=less time blogging.

However, I will share one more masterpiece.  Marinated mushrooms, swiss chard, and creamy cheese polenta:

Between working too much, having guests visit, battling a cold, and being just plan lazy, I have taken a small break from running.  This weekend, I got back in the groove, and I have planned a running schedule for the next few weeks which I will share with you shortly.  I have also been practicing more yoga on my own (I just discovered Dave Farmar) and working on core body strength.  All of this cooking and exercise has me thinking that I may be crawling out of this mid-winter (is it even mid-winter yet?) slump.

Leave a Reply

